High Powered Committee for ‘Transformation of Agriculture’ constituted

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has constituted a High-powered Committee of Chief Ministers (CMs) for ‘Transformation of Indian Agriculture’.

HPC was set up subsequent to the deliberations of Governing Council meeting of NITI Aayog and in keeping with promise of Centre government for Agriculture reforms, rural development, water conservation and its proper.

About High Powered Committee

Objective: It will suggest policy measures, attract investments and raise growth in food processing.

Composition: The 9 member committee is headed by Devendra Fadnavis Chief Minister of Maharashtra. Other members include-

Narendra Singh Tomar (Union Agriculture, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Minister) and Ramesh Chand (NITI Aayog member) and Chief Ministers of Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Arunachal Pradesh.

Timeframe: Committee will submit its report within 2 months.

Terms of Reference (ToR) of Committee:

To discuss measures for transformation of agriculture in country and for raising farmer’s income.

To examine various provisions of Essential Commodity Act (ECA) so as to attract private investments in agricultural marketing and infrastructure.

To suggest mechanism for linking of market reforms with e-NAM (National Agriculture Market), GRAM and other relevant Centrally Sponsored Schemes (CSS).

To suggest modalities for adoption and time-bound implementation of agriculture sector reforms.

To suggest policy measures to raise growth in food processing, boost agricultural export and attract investments in value chains and logistics, modern market infrastructure.



Latest E-Books