Gairsain declared Summer Capital of Uttarakhand

On June 8, 2020, the Uttarakhand Governor Baby Rani Maurya assented to declare Gairsain as new summer capital. The Gairsain is also called Bhararisen.


Gairsain is to have an e-vidhan Sabha. This was announced on World Environment Day. The Legislative Assembly of the state is located at Dehradun, the winter capital city. The activists in Uttarakhand wanted Gairsain to be the capital of Uttarakhand state after it was carved out of Uttar Pradesh in 1998.

The activists suggested Gairsain as the capital as it was falling on the border of Kumaon and Garhwal regions. The town is located in the Chamoli district and is 250 km from Dehradun. It comes under the administrative limits of Garhwal division. The boundary of Kumaon starts at a distance of 15 km from Gairsain.


The State of Uttarakhand was formed as the 27th state of India. The state was formed through the Uttar Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2000. The famous tourist attraction in the state includes Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Park. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The state also sources Ramganga river. The river begins its journey at the Dudhatoli Parvat.



Latest E-Books