French Open 2017: Rafael Nadal Wins his 10th French Open Title

Spain’s Rafael Nadal has defeated Swiss third-seeded Stan Wawrinka 6-2, 6-3, 6-1 to win his record 10th French Open title. This will be his fifteenth major title win. With this victory, Rafael Nadal has become the first man or woman in the Open era to clinch a Grand Slam tournament 10 times. The Open era which began in 1968 allowed professional players to compete with amateurs in the Grand Slam tournaments.
With 15 Grandslam title wins, Nadal moves to the second place above Pete Sampras on the list of all-time Grand Slam winners of men’s tennis only behind Roger Federer, who recently registered his 18th title win at the Australian Open in January.

Women’s Doubles Title

America’s Bethanie Mattek-Sands and the Czech Republic’s Lucie Safarova have clinched their third successive grand slam doubles title after defeating Australian duo Ashleigh Barty and Casey Dellacqua at the French Open.

French Open

The French Open is a premier clay court tennis championship event held between late May and early June for a duration of two weeks at the Stade Roland-Garros in Paris. The event is the second of out of four annual Grand Slam tournaments. The other three events are Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. The event has been named after the French aviator Roland Garros. Garros was a Tennis Lover.  French Open is also called “Roland Garros” or Les internationaux de France de Roland-Garros or Tournoi de Roland-Garros.



Latest E-Books