First Disha Police Station inaugurated in Andhra Pradesh to work on violence against women

On February 8, 2020, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy inaugurated the first Disha Police Station. The police stations are first of their kind in the state and will deal with crimes against women.


The Andhra Pradesh Government is to inaugurate 18 Disha Police Stations by the end of February 2020. Every police station is to add 26 to 47 police officers. The 18 Disha police stations will act as upgraded versions of existing women police stations. The stations have been allocated fund of 30% of special allowance. The stations are established under Disha act, 2019.

Disha Act

In December 2019, the Andhra Pradesh Government passed the Disha Bill, 2019. The bill aims to complete investigation of cases related to crimes against women within 7 to 14 days. It also prescribes death penalty under Section 376 of IPC (Indian Penal Code).

Also, the act punishes crimes against children with 10 to 14 years of imprisonment.


The act was passed after a 26-year-old veterinarian was brutally raped and murdered in Telangana.



Latest E-Books