FinMin Joint Secretary Rashmi R Das appointed to UN Tax Committee

Rasmi Ranjan Das, a Joint secretary of the Finance Ministry has been appointed to the UN tax committee as a member for the term period 2021 to 2025. Rasmi Ranjan Das is Joint Secretary – (FT&TR-I), Central Board of Direct Taxes, Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance.


About the UN tax committee

  • Formally known as the UN Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters, this committee helps the countries’ efforts to advance stronger and forward-looking tax policies which are adapted to suit the realities of a digitalised economy, globalised trade and investment and the ever worsening environmental degradation.
  • This committee also assists countries in their efforts to prevent multiple or double taxations and non-taxation. Also, it helps in broadening their tax base, curb international tax evasion and avoidance as well as strengthen their tax administrations.
  • The committee also focuses on the developing countries and their various policy environments.
  • A majority of the newly appointed members of this committee are from the developing countries.
  • Since its inception, for the first time this Committee has a majority of women experts in its panel.
  • The UN Tax Committee works closely with various observers from government, business and academia as well as civil society to develop, guide and to encourage an inclusive setting of policies.


Other members of the committee

Other members of the committee hail from countries such as Chile, Nigeria, Malawi, South Korea, Ireland, Mexico, Myanmar, Indonesia, Russia, Angola, Norway, Canada, Italy, Germany, China and Sweden. They have been appointed by the UN Secretary-General António Guterres.


First meeting of the new members of the Committee

In October, 2021 the first meeting with new members of the Committee will take place, during which the experts will discuss and determine their respective work plans.




Latest E-Books