e-Tourist visa extended to citizens of 161 countries: Government

The Union Government has extended the facility of e-Tourist Visa (e-TV) Scheme for citizens of 161 countries. It was announced by Tourism Minister Mahesh Sharma in a written reply to Rajya Sabha.
The reply also mentioned that number of foreign tourist arrivals on e-TV during January to November 2016 was 9,17,446. This period registered a growth of 168.5% over same period of previous year. This indicates success of the e-TV Scheme.

About E-Tourist Visa Scheme

  • Union Government had launched e-Tourist Visa Scheme (as Tourist Visa on Arrival scheme) on November 27, 2014.
  • The scheme facilitates pre-authorization of Visa i.e. electronic travel authorisation is given to foreigners prior to travel after applicant registers for visa online.
  • After registration applicant receives an email authorising him or her to travel to India after it has been approved. The tourist can travel with a print-out of this authorisation.
  • The scheme aims to tap the vast tourism potential of India which still remains untapped and explored.
Related Posts



Latest E-Books