Devendra Fadnavis heads high-powered committee of Chief Ministers (CMs) to transform Indian agriculture

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has recently constituted a high-powered committee of Chief Ministers (CMs) for the transformation of agriculture and raising farmers’ income. The nine-member committee, headed by Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis, will suggest policy measures, attract investments and raise growth in food processing. The members of the committee are as follows: Chief Ministers of Karnataka, Haryana, Arunachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Union Agriculture, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and NITI Aayog member Ramesh Chand. The terms of reference (ToR) of the committee include suggesting modalities for adoption and time bound implementation of reforms such as Agriculture Produce and Livestock, Contract Farming and Services (Promotion & Facilitation) Act, 2018’; changes in the Essential Commodity Act, 1955 to attract private investments in agricultural marketing and infrastructure. The committee has also been asked to suggest mechanism for linking of market reforms with e-NAM, GRAM and other relevant Centrally Sponsored Schemes; and ways to upgrade agri-technology to global standards and improve access of farmers to quality seed, plant propagation material and farm machinery in agriculturally advance countries.



Latest E-Books