Denmark signs ‘ISA FA’

Denmark has signed the International Solar Alliance Framework Agreement (ISA FA) and Instrument of Ratification with India.

Key Points

Denmark has become the first country to ratify International Solar Alliance Framework Agreement (ISA FA) after amendments in the ISA FA entered into force on January 8, 2021.

International Solar Alliance (ISA)

ISA is an alliance of 121 countries. It was initiated by India.  Most of member countries are sunshine countries located completely or partly between Tropic of Cancer and Tropic of Capricorn. It is a treaty-based intergovernmental organization. ISA is the largest grouping of states, after United Nations.

Objective of ISA

ISA was established with the objective of working for efficient consumption of solar energy in a bid to reduce dependence on fossil fuels.


ISA initiative was first proposed by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi in his speech in November 2015 at Wembley Stadium. During his speech, he referred the sunshine countries as Suryaputra.

Who can join ISA?

ISA is primarily an alliance of countries lying between Tropics. However, countries which do not fall within the Tropics can join alliance and enjoy all benefits as other members, except the voting rights.

ISA Framework agreement (ISA FA)

ISA FA was opened for signatures in Marrakech, Morocco in November 2016. It was joined by 200 countries.





Latest E-Books