China annexes parts of Nepal by diverting the flow of Rivers that acted as Natural Boundary

A report prepared by Nepal’s Agricultural Ministry’s Survey Department has indicated that China has diverted the flow of rivers in certain areas of the Nepal-China border. These rivers act as a natural boundary between the two countries.

As per the report, in a total of 11 places where the Chinese have encroached the Nepalese territory, in 10 places China has diverted the flow of rivers for encroachment. In these 10 places, the total area of Nepalese land encroached by China is said to be around 33 hectares.

Highlights from the Report

  • Humla District: Route of Bagdare Khola River and Karnali River are diverted. By this diversion, China has annexed 10 hectares of land under its Tibet Autonomous Region.
  • Rasuwa District: Routes of 3 rivers- Jambu Khola, Sinjen, and Bhurjuk are diverted. The total area of about 6 hectares annexed in this district.
  • Sindhupalchowk District: In this district, a total of 11 hectares of land has already been claimed by China as its own territory. This was done by diverting the route of Bhote Kosi and Kharane Khola rivers.
  • Sankhuwasabha District: Routes of 3 rivers- Arun, Sumjung, and Kam Khola are diverted. The total area annexed by China in this district is 9 hectares.

China have also annexed Nepalese Villages Rui and Teigha

Another report that was published by media houses in Nepal claims that 2 villages in the northern part of the Gorkha district have been annexed by China. The name of the villages is Rui and Teigha. These villages are currently included in the map of Nepal (also included in the newly amended map of Nepal that was passed on 13th June). But as per the reports, the boundary pillars that demarcated as the border between the two countries have been removed.




Latest E-Books