Cabinet approves opening of 18 new missions in Africa by 2021

The Union Cabinet has approved opening of 18 new Indian Missions in Africa over four year period from 2018-2021. Decision in this regard was taken at the Union Cabinet meeting chaired by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi.

Key Facts

The 18 new Indian Missions in Africa will be opened in Cape Verde, Chad, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Liberia, Mauritania, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Somalia, Sierra Leone, Swaziland and Togo. It will increase number of Resident Indian Missions in Africa from 29 to 47.


The decision will enhance India’s diplomatic outreach and increase its footprints in resource-rich African continent. It will allow India to engage with Indian diaspora in African countries. It is also considered as step towards implementing vision of enhanced co-operation and engagement with Africa. It will further enhance cooperation to implement commitments of India-Africa Forum Summit (IAFS-III).



Latest E-Books