Bhutan general elections: Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa party got majority

Dravk Nyamrup Tshogpa Party has won the recent general elections held in Bhutan. This party won 30 of the National Assembly’s 47 seats. The National Assembly is the Lower House of Bhutan Parliament. This was overall third general election since democracy was adopted in Bhutan in 2008 and the first general elections held same year itself.

Key Facts

In 2018 general elections of Bhutan, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa emerged largest single majority party by winning 30 seats, while Druk Fenasum Tsogoga got only 17 seats. Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay of  ruling People’s Democratic Party was defeated in this election. In this general election, there was 71% voter turnout. This poll percentage was higher than 66% in 2013. Late Tshering, President of Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa, will be next Prime Minister of Bhutan.



Latest E-Books