2016 Hockey India Annual Awards

Late Capt. Shankar Laxman was posthumously chosen for the 2016 Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award.
The award carrying purse of Rs. 30 lakh was accepted by his son Manohar Singh Shekhawat during the 2016 Hockey India Annual Awards held in Bengaluru.
Late Capt. Shankar Laxman was one of legendary hockey player in India. He was a goalkeeper and was part of the Olympic medal-winning teams of 1956 (Melbourne, Gold), 1960 (Rome, Silver), and 1964 (Tokyo, Gold).
Other winners

  • Dhruv Batra Player of the Year Award: P.R Sreejesh (male), Deepika (female).
  • Baljit Singh Goalkeeper of the Year Award: Savita.
  • Pargat Singh Defender of the Year Award: Kothajit Singh.
  • Ajit Pal Singh Midfielder of the Year Award: Ritu Rani.
  • Dhanraj Pillay Forward of the Year Award: Rani.
  • Asunta Lakra Upcoming Player of the Year Award: Harjeet Singh (male), Preeti Dubey (female).
  • Jaman Lal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution: Baldev Singh.
  • President’s Award for Outstanding Achievement: Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy.

Note: The entire women’s hockey team and the support staff was felicitated with cash reward of Rs. 1.00 Lakh each to celebrate the historic occasion of their qualification for the 2016 Rio Olympics after a gap of 36 years since the Moscow Games.



Latest E-Books


  • hemant tailor

    its my hobby i love hockey
    bharat mata ki jay