15 new castes included in Central OBC list

The Union Cabinet, chaired by the Prime Minister has approved the inclusion of 15 new castes in the Central list of Other Backward Classes (OBCs). Modifications in another 13 castes in the Central list were also approved. The National Commission of Backward Classes (NCBC) had recommended 28 changes with respect to 8 states: Assam, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir and Uttarakhand. The changes made to the list will enable the beneficiaries to avail the benefits of reservation in Government services, Central Educational Institutions, benefits under the various welfare schemes, scholarships etc.

The National Commission of Backward Classes (NCBC) examines requests for inclusion in the central list of backward classes and hears complaints of over-inclusion or under-inclusion of any backward class in the list. The advice of NCBC is binding upon the Central Government.