10 Asian nations take initiative to ban smokeless tobacco products

10 South and Southeast Asian countries including India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Thailand and Sri Lanka have come forward to ban smokeless tobacco products. Smokeless forms of tobacco including use of areca nuts cause serious health problems. The countries decided to introduce strong legislation for the purpose at the regional meeting of the World Health Organization’s Framework Convention on Tobacco Control.

 The meeting was organized by India’s health ministry in collaboration with WHO SEAR (South-East Asian Region) who reviewed the implementation of the WHO and major developments related to the treaty in the region and internationally. It reviewed instruments available for implementation of the convention, particularly the guidelines and the reporting system. It also decided to raise awareness of the newly adopted protocol to eliminate illegal trade in tobacco products.



Latest E-Books