Bankers Junction Quiz-1: History of Banking

1. In which year, the first bank of India “Bank of Hindustan” was established?


The first bank of India is Bank of Hindustan established in 1770. This bank was established at Calcutta under European management. It was liquidated in 1830-32.

2. Which among the following are the correct locations of three presidency banks during British India?
[A]Calcutta, Madras, Bombay
[B]Surat, Calcutta, Madras
[C]Surat, Madras, Bombay
[D]Bombay, Calcutta, Surat


Calcutta, Madras, Bombay

3. Which of the following is the oldest Joint Stock bank of India?
[A]Allahabad Bank
[B]Bank of Baroda
[C]Patiala Bank
[D]Bank of India


Allahabad Bank
A bank that has multiple shareholders is called joint-stock bank. Oldest Joint Stock bank of India was Bank of Upper India that was established in 1863. But this bank failed in 1913. India’s Oldest Joint Stock Bank which is still working is Allahabad Bank. It is also known as India’s oldest public sector bank. It was established in 1865.

4. Which among the following was the first bank to open a branch on foreign soil?
[A]Bank of India
[B]State Bank of India
[C]Bank of Punjab
[D]Allahabad Bank


Bank of India
Bank of India was the first Indian bank to open a branch outside India in London in 1946 and the first to open a branch in continental Europe at Paris in 1974.

5. What was the initial share capital of Reserve Bank of India?
[A]Rs. 5 Crore
[B]Rs. 10 Crore
[C]Rs. 15 Crore
[D]Rs. 20 Crore


Rs. 5 Crore
RBI did not start as a Government owned bank but as a privately held bank without major government ownership. It started with a Share Capital of Rs. 5 Crore, divided into shares of Rs. 100 each fully paid up. In the beginning, this entire capital was owned by private shareholders. Out of this Rs. 5 Crore, the amount of Rs. 4,97,8000 was subscribed by the private shareholders while Rs. 2,20,000 was subscribed by central government.

6. The Royal Commission on Indian Currency and Finance was also known as __:
[A]Hilton-Young Commission
[B]Hartog Commission
[C]Muddiman Committee
[D]Buttler Commission


Hilton-Young Commission

7. Original headquarters of RBI were located at ___?
[D]New Delhi


Original headquarters of RBI were in Kolkata, but in 1937, it was shifted to Shahid Bhagat Singh Marg, Mumbai.

8. In which year, Paper Currency Act was enacted by British Government of India?



9. On which date, RBI started working?
[A]1 January 1934
[B]1 January 1935
[C]1 April 1935
[D]31 March 1934


1 April 1935

10. In which year, Indian Rupee was devalued for the first time?



11. In which year, Regional Rural Banks started working in India?



12. The earliest evidence of Banking transactions in India comes from __:
[A]Vedic Era
[B]Maurya Era
[C]Gupta Era
[D]Medieval India


Vedic Era
Earliest evidence of Banking in India is found from the period of Vedic Civilization. During those days, loan deeds called rnapatra (ऋणपत्र) or rnalekhya (ऋणलेख्य) were prevalent. Interest rates as well as usury (सूदखोरी) was prevalent in Vedic India. The Vedic word Kusidin refers to an usurer (सूदखोर).This term is also found in Manusmriti.

13. The liberalisation of Indian banking and regulation was done first on the basis of recommendations of which committee?
[A]Narasimham Committee
[B]A Ashok Committee
[C]Saraiya Committee
[D]Khusro Committee


Narasimham Committee
The liberalisation of Indian banking and regulation was done on the basis of recommendations of Narasimham Committee in 1991. The purpose of the committee was to enhance efficiency, productivity and profitability of banks.

14. In which year, the nationalization of subsidiary banks of the State Bank of India (SBI) was done?
[A] 1955
[B] 1956
[C] 1959
[D] 1980


In 1959, State Bank of India (subsidiary) act was passed. As per the act, seven subsidiary banks of the State Bank of India (SBI) were nationalized as a major process of nationalization. The seven subsidiary banks are State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur (SBBJ), State Bank of Hyderabad (SBH), State Bank of Mysore (SBM), State Bank of Patiala (SBP), State Bank of Indore, State Bank of Saurashtra and State Bank of Travancore (SBT).

15. What was the name of State Bank of India (SBI) before it was created by SBI Act?
[A]Imperial Bank of Hindustan
[B]Imperial Bank of Bengal
[C]Imperial Bank of Madras
[D]Imperial Bank of India


Imperial Bank of India
The Presidency banks viz. Bank of Bengal, Bank of Bombay and Bank of Madras amalgamated on January 27, 1921 and the Imperial Bank of India was formed under the Imperial Bank of India Act, 1920. After Independence, the Imperial Bank of India was nationalized under the State Bank of India Act, 1955 and State Bank of India (SBI) was formed.


  • vikram kengarkar

    Thanks and keep it up..

  • parminder kaur

    nice,informative questions

    • bhart jaipal

      good question for exam

  • rajashree behera

    very important gk.thanks

  • chhandacharanbiswal

    it is the foundation of banking preperatory, beacuse it is the first question of banking entrance

  • shweta tiwari

    it is very helpfull for me thanx

  • Noyal Ghalay

    Thank You

  • dhiraj gupta

    thanks we need this

  • sakshi

    helped a lot thanks :-)

  • Harish s pagadavar

    it gives a lot of information

  • Nitin Harish Rajput

    it is really too good and helpful

  • sneha s kudnekar

    Very interesting and knowledgeable

  • ankita

    thankyou but there should be more ques ….

  • ashwani

    NICE WORK :)

  • madhukeshav

    very essential information thank u

  • praveen

    Thank you sir , realy it is good work and very help full for upcoming exams.

    and one thing which i like more in GKtody that is answer with some explanation related to question which is help to know more about particular topic, keep it up

  • Aleema Khan


  • liza

    thanks alot for updating banking gk….

  • r krishns

    Good questions and nice job

  • sureshkumar

    very useful information’
    thank you

  • dinesh saini

    Very thanks sir, i m proud on you

  • nireesha

    Superb…nice questions……

Cancel reply