Railway Budget

Acworth Committee on Indian Railways

November 15, 2015

In 1920, an East Indian Railway Committee was constituted under the chairmanship of Sir William Acworth. This committee consisted of 10 members and among them 3 were Indians viz. V S Sriniwas Sastri (Member of Council of States) , Purshottam Das Thakurdas (representing Indian Commercial Interests) and...