List of Scheduled Banks in India

The scheduled banks are of two types

  1. Scheduled Commercial banks
  2. Scheduled Co-operative Banks

They are further divided as follows:
classification of banks in India

Current Number of Nationalized Banks:

There are 26 Nationalized Banks in the country at present. They are as follows:
1. Allahabad Bank
2. Andhra Bank
3. Bank of Baroda
4. Bank of India
5. Bank of Maharashtra
6. Canara Bank
7. Central Bank of India
8. Corporation Bank
9. Dena Bank
10. IDBI Bank Ltd.
11. Indian Bank
12. Indian Overseas Bank
13. Oriental Bank of Commerce
14. Punjab & Sind Bank
15. Punjab National Bank
16. Syndicate Bank
17. UCO Bank
18. Union Bank of India
19. United Bank of India
20. Vijaya Bank

State Bank Group

  1. State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur
  2. State Bank of Hyderabad
  3. State Bank of India
  4. State Bank of Mysore
  5. State Bank of Patiala
  6. State Bank of Travancore
  • State Bank of Indore has merged with SBI from August 26, 2010.


Current Number of Old Private Banks

There are 14 Old Private sector Banks in the country as follows:

  1. Catholic Syrian Bank Ltd.
  2. City Union Bank Ltd.
  3. Dhanalakshmi Bank Ltd.
  4. Federal Bank Ltd.
  5. ING Vysya Bank Ltd.
  6. Jammu & Kashmir Bank Ltd.
  7. Karnataka Bank Ltd.
  8. Karur Vysya Bank Ltd.
  9. Lakshmi Vilas Bank Ltd.
  10. Nainital Bank Ltd.
  11. Ratnakar Bank Ltd.
  12. SBI Commercial & International Bank Ltd
  13. South Indian Bank Ltd.
  14. Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Ltd.
  • The number of the old Private Banks in India was 15 until recently
    and the latest reports from RBI (2009-10) show this 15. The Bank of Rajasthan Ltd has recently merged with ICICI Bank Ltd.

Current Number of New Private Banks

There are 7 New Private sector Banks in India as follows:

  1. Axis Bank Ltd.
  2. Development Credit Bank Ltd
  3. HDFC Bank Ltd.
  4. ICICI Bank Ltd.
  5. IndusInd Bank Ltd.
  6. Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.
  7. Yes Bank Ltd

Current Number of Foreign Banks

As of end of 2009, there were 32 Foreign Banks in India with 293 branches. 43 foreign banks were operating in India through representatives of offices.

  • Under the WTO agreements, the Reserve bank of India has to allow a minimum of 12 Branches of all the foreign banks to be opened in a year.