As per census 2011, the constituents of urban area are:

  1. Statutory Towns
  2. Census Towns
  3. Outgrowths
  4. Million plus cities
  5. Urban agglomeration

 Select the correct option from codes given below:

Answer: [A] 1, 2 & 3 Only

The first category of urban units is known as Statutory Towns. These towns are notified under law by the concerned State/UT Government and have local bodies like municipal corporations, municipalities, municipal committees, etc., irrespective of their demographic characteristics. Outgrowth should be a viable unit such as village or part of village contiguous to a statutory town and possess urban features in terms of infrastructure and amenities such as pucca roads, electricity, drainage system, post offices, medical facilities, banks etc. Examples of outgrowths are railway colonies, university campuses, port areas etc.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module