Which of the following stretches have been declared as National Waterways in India?

  1. Allahabad-Haldia
  2. Dhubri-Sadiya
  3. Kottapuram-Kollam canal
  4. Kakinada-Puducherry canal

 Select the correct option from codes given below:

Answer: [D] 1, 2, 3 & 4

The Government has envisaged construction of 101 waterways in the National Waterways Bill 2015. Five of the river-stretches have already been declared as National Waterways, which include Allahabad-Haldia on Ganga (1,620 km), Brahmaputra's Dhubri-Sadiya (891 km), West Coast Canal Kottapuram-Kollam (205 km), Kakinada-Puducherry canals (1,078 km) and East Coast Canal integrated with Brahmani River and Mahanadi delta rivers (588 km). 

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module