Consider the following silk types:

  1. Tasar
  2. Eri
  3. Muga
  4. Mulberry

Which of the above are also known as Vanya Silk?

Answer: [A] 1, 2 & 3 Only

Vanya Silk includes non-mulberry Tasar, Eri and Muga silks. India is the only country producing all the three Vanya silks commercially. India is home to world’s second largest Silk Industry and the country produces four varieties of silk viz. Mulberry, Eri, Tasar and Muga. The Tasar, Eri and Muga silk are non-mulberry, wild silks and also known as Vanya Silks.
Around 80% of Silk produced in India is of Mulberry variety with largest production in Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. Muga silk is unique in having a golden sheen and is a prized possession of India. Muga is mainly produced in Assam. There are two varieties of Tasar silk viz. Tropical Tasar and Oak Tasar. Tropical Tasar silk is produced in tribal areas of central India in states of Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra, UP and Odisha. Oak Tasar silk is produced mainly in Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland. Eri is grown in Assam and the adjacent north-eastern states, Bihar, West Bengal and Odisha.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module